The National Council for Geographic Education is dedicated to recognizing educators and advocates who have made outstanding contributions to geography education. Awards are given for teaching, research, and service.

Award nomination materials can now be submitted to The Central Office will forward all materials to the appropriate committees for evaluation. Winners are announced in early summer and recipients are recognized at a special ceremony during NCGE’s annual conference.

NCGE is now accepting nominations for the following awards:


E. Willard and Ruby S. Miller Grants for Research in Geographic Education: to advance the frontiers of geographic education by supporting and promoting innovative research in theory, practice, and application
 K-12 Distinguished Teaching Awards: to recognize and support excellence in geography teaching at the primary and secondary levels
Higher Education Distinguished Teaching Awards: to recognize and support excellence in higher education geography teaching
Natoli Dissertation Award: to encourage dissertation  Higher Education Distinguished Teaching research in geography teaching and learning
Herff Jones Nystrom Geography Award: provides a monetary award for K-12 teachers for exemplary lesson plans
Award for Outstanding Support for Geography Education: honors individuals who work outside of the formal classroom, but have made outstanding contributions to support geography education
Distinguished Mentor Award: for College/University professors whose guidance and influence is significant for students becoming geographers and/or classroom teachers
Geographic Excellence in Media Award: for all forms of media in 2010 that exhibit outstanding geographic content or teaching methods
Women in Geographic Education Scholarship: monetary award and travel stipend for a female undergraduate or graduate student enrolled in a program leading to a career in geographic education
 Suggestions may also be made for the following awards:

Journal of Geography Awards: for the best content articles published during the previous year in NCGE’s flagship journal
The Geography Teacher Journal Awards: for the article of significant value in the teaching of geography to K-12 students.
 George J Miller Award for Distinguished Service to Geographic Education: the Council’s highest award, for distinguished service in geographic education
Don’t Forget:

Geography Department Chairs or Representatives, remember to notify us of your department’s Excellence of Scholarship Award winner(s) by May 1, 2012

For complete descriptions, deadlines and documentation requirements please visit the Awards Section of the NCGE website. Please direct any questions to


Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Join our mailing list to receive the latest news and updates from NHGA

You have Successfully Subscribed!