NCGE Webinar Program – Special Update

Mar 8, 2012 by

National Council For Geographic Education Webinar Program Special Update March 7, 2012

We’ve made a change to the webinar schedule and wanted you to know…it’s now FREE!

 

“Starting Your Own Geospatial Semester”

Wednesday, April 4, 2012

8pm Eastern/ 7pm Central/6pm Mountain/5pm Pacific

*PARTNERSHIP WEBINAR: FREE for EVERYONE! Sponsored by Esri, Redlands, CA

Dr. Bob Kolvoord
Professor of Integrated Science and Technology and Educational Technologies, Co-Director of the JMU Center for STEM Education and Outreach & Interim Director of the School of Engineering
James Madison University, Harrisonburg, VA

Charlie Fitzpatrick
Education Manager, Esri
Arlington, VA

Looking for ways to engage high school seniors with geospatial problems? Trying to find ways to bring geospatial technologies into the curriculum? Want to explore a state-wide site license for GIS? Searching for different ways to engage students with Geography? The Geospatial Semester is a collaborative effort between James Madison University (JMU) and Virginia school districts (part of the Virginia-Esri state-wide site license). Students take a semester- or year-long course in geospatial technologies and pursue an extended, locally-based project. Faculty from JMU support the high school teachers and provide technical and project support. Best of all, students can earn JMU credit for their efforts. Currently in its 7th year, the Geospatial Semester has provided opportunities for students to get engaged with geographic thinking and geospatial technologies. In this webinar, we’ll share details about the Geospatial Semester, examples of student work, and discuss how you can get the Geospatial Semester started in your locale.

Dr. Bob Kolvoord is a professor of Integrated Science and Technology and Educational Technologies at James Madison University. He also serves as the Co-Director of the JMU Center for STEM Education and Outreach and the Interim Director of the School of Engineering. His research centers on the use of data visualization and geospatial technologies by K-12 teachers and students, as well as how students’ spatial thinking skills develop through the use of these tools. He’s been active in developing curricula and providing professional development workshops for teachers for the past two decades, both in the US and abroad. With Kathryn Keranen, he is the co-creator of the Geospatial Semester and co-author of Making Spatial Decisions Using GIS (ESRI Press). In 2011, he was recognized by the State Council for Higher Education in Virginia’s Outstanding Faculty Award (Teaching with Technology). Bob is joined by Charlie Fitzpatrick, Esri Education Manager to discuss the possibilities for your state!

Register Now